Login or Register

  Welcome: Guest

Home >> Article >> Sports >> Cricket >> Post New Article Bookmark and Share

A short history of the T20 Indian Premier League

April 06, 2012  by: Abhijit Bangal  Points: 12   Category: Cricket  Earning $0.20   Views: 832

It was India who opposed the ICC to usher in the T20 format. Interestingly, India was the first country to win the T20 World Cup.


As luck would have it, it is India again who introduced the most popular cricketing league in the world. IPL enters the fifth season this year. A look back at the teams this year and the previous four editions.
The fifth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) got underway on April 4, with Mumbai Indians taking on the reigning champions Chennai Super Kings. With each passing year, the volume of the tournament is on the rise, which is evident from the fact that the number of teams have increased from the initial eight to ten (including the Kochi team, which is now defunct).
The first season of the IPL was held in the year 2008.

Teams of the IPL with their current captains

  • Rajasthan Royals (Rahul Dravid, India)

  • Royal Challangers Bangalore (Daniel Vettori, New Zealand)

  • Mumbai Indians (Harbhajan Singh, India: post relinquished by Sachin Tendulkar)

  • Kolkata Knight Riders (Gautam Gambhir, India)

  • Chennai Super Kings (M S Dhoni)

  • Deccan Chargers Hyderabad (Kumar Sangakkara, Sri Lanka)

  • Delhi Daredevils (Virender Sehwag, India)

  • Kings XI Punjab (Adam Gilchrist, Australia)

  • Pune Warriors India (Saurav Ganguly, India)

  • Kochi Tuskers Kerala – the 2011 season only (Mahela Jayawardene, Sri Lanka)

IPL 2008
Title Holders: Rajasthan Royals
Runners-up: Chennai Super Kings
Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural edition of the IPL under the captaincy of the legendary Shane Warne. They proved to be a surprise package of the very first edition as they were considered the minnows of the IPL.

IPL 2009
Title Holders: Deccan Chargers Hyderabad
Runners-up: Royal Challengers Bangalore
It was M S Dhoni and his boys all the way from the second edition onwards. The Chennai Super Kings have been the most successful team of the IPL making it to the finals three times and winning the title twice.

IPL 2010
Title Holders: Chennai Super Kings
Runners-up: Mumbai Indians
It was Chennai Super Kings who won the title for the first after being the runners-up in the opening season. M S Dhoni proved to be a leader of high class who maneuvered his resources at hand. His batting abilities added the extra firepower to the team.

IPL 2011
Title Holders: Chennai Super Kings
Runners-up: Royal Challengers Bangalore
When on one hand Chennai Super Kings won the title for the second time, Royal Challengers Bangalore lost the same for the second time as well. It was the fight between two world-class players and teammates at the national level – Dhoni and Dravid.

IPL 2012
The fifth season of the IPL also promises to be a grand affair as usual. Nine teams will be participating during this edition. All eyes and hopes are pinned on Chennai Super Kings. They have a great chance to win the title three in a row.


No response found. Be the first to respond to this post

Post Comment

Please Log In  to post comment

Related Resources

Timeline of Indian History
Important years in Indian history are given in this resource.

Black Gold that Wrote Indian History
Pepper is called black gold. It wrote the Indian history from ancient days. The then world came to India to purchase pepper and other spices for survival.

A short biography of Indian Cricketer -Virendra Sehwag
Virendra Sehwag, one of the best player and good opening batsman of India. He is an aggressive player in all format with that he scored lakhs of fans. He has got many many records. This article is a short biography of Virendra Sehwag. I hope that you will like it.

Indian kid set record in push-ups
Indian kid Ronald set record by doing 1482 push-ups in 40 minutes.

Neem Tree (Indian Lilac) : The Divine Gift
This article is about the divine tree 'Neem' and its benefits.

Latest Resources From The Same Category

Profile of Virt Kohli - the Champion Chaser
Virt Kohli a Champion Chaser and next Sachin Tendulkar of India.

Sachin Tendulkar gets first MOM award in IPL 6
For his brilliant 48 runs, Sachin Tendulkar got the first MOM award in IPL 6.

Ricky Ponting and Sachin Tendulkar to play for Mumbai Indians
Ricky Ponting and Sachin Tendulkar to play for Mumbai Indians. It will be great to see these iconic batsmen bat with each other.

Can Ricky Ponting and Sachin Tendulkar bat together?
Everybody is waiting for Ricky Ponting and Sachin Tendulkar to bat together for the Mumbai Indians.

Its all about the double century that the Indian skipper scored. It got the credit of breaking one of the record the god of cricket Sachin Tendulkar made.


Top Performers     Top Contributors     Share and Earn     Terms of Service    Privacy Policy     Contact Us